top of page
Search

Emotional Design - Interviews

Noémie Corneillier (Graphic Designer for Image Motion)


1. What do you think about emotional design ?

N. Emotional design is important because it gives more impact toward the public aimed and touches them more personally in which result as an authentic memorable experience.


2. When you worked for « x »company / client, were you able to incorporate your personal design values in your work? Or was it pre-determined by a specific criteria that the company/client gave you ?

N. When I worked for Image Motion which is a content agency, I was not able to incorporate my personal design values in my work. There was not enough time to think through a deep concept, the projects to be done the soonest since I was working on 5 to 6 brands content. They researched more efficiency in the quantity than the quality.


3. Did they know about emotional design and how to incorporate that in the graphics?

N. They know about emotional design since I could see some of their big campaigns project with big clients where they actually thought about a detailed design concept.


4. And as for your work now- do you feel like the public/audience reacts differently?

N. The public would definitely react differently if emotional design was incorporated in any projects especially in media content because social media is going really fast. Therefore to make a strong impact towards the public so they can assimilate clearly the message or the values shared by the advertising or products, it has to be memorable. Any feelings or emotions shown and created in a design can be stronger than any aesthetic design.


5. What about your work today ?

N. In any work I do, I'll always try to put the focus on who is going to see the final design and how I could manage to make them remember what I am working on. Since the public is mostly human, it is important in my opinion to consider the fundamental aspects of the human being. We have the reliability of thinking either rationally or emotionally and we are able to feel a various amount of feelings in a lifetime. Incorporating emotional design in my work will make a strong connection with the public because the design will show that emotions or feelings are being considered, the public will feel that the design is made by someone like themselves: a human with feelings and not just by a computer.



 

Claudia Goyette (Graphic Designer for Realta)


1. What do you think about emotional design ?

C. I think that emotional design is really necessary for all sorts of design projects whether its to create an ad, a poster or a packaging for a certain product, you really need to put the emphasis on your subject (audience) and on who's going to buy or see what you're doing. We all have emotions and we use them to make most of our decisions so I think it's a good idea for graphic designers to chose their aesthetic choices based on that. The ultimate goal is to trigger the public to have a conscience and mind. Using emotional design is a great way to do it.


2. When you worked for « x »company / client, were you able to incorporate your personal design values in your work? Or was it pre-determined by a specific criteria that the company/client gave you ?

C. I wasn't really able to use emotional design at 100% while I was working for the real estate agency because I was a junior graphic designer. Their templates were already made and I just had to adjust them week after week. There was not a lot of creation allowed because the company is already well established and they didn't need me to modify what was already created. However, in some projects I was able to play with words and sentences to create a certain relation of trust between the agency, the brokers and their clients and I think that's a good way of proving that emotions are really a part of everything we do and we really need to focus more on that. We need to focus on the audience to create a certain kind of reaction.


3. Did they know about emotional design and how to incorporate that in the graphics?

C. At this company, my boss was really aware of emotional design. as I mentioned earlier her goal was really to focus on the relation between the team of brokers and the clients. throughout my time there my goal was to show that our team was not only the best but the ones you could trust with your real estate projects. Compared to other real estate companies in Montreal, this one really focus on its team instead of its sales which I think is really important because they wanted to build this connection with their clients. Yes you want to show the results but you also want to show the humans behind. We had a campaign called “Une question de valeurs”, so for 6 months, in all our publications social networks, newspaper, magazines, we focussed on our values and what makes us who we are as human being, not only showing numbers. I think it was a really great way to talk to the public and to establish this relation of trust. Or the graphics as I said earlier their templates were already created so my goal was really to show more in pictures and text rather than in graphic elements.


4. What about your work today ?

C. I don't work for this company anymore and because I am just out of University, I don't have many work experience but I'm currently working on updating my portfolio. It is really different to work for yourself than for a company. Working on my portfolio made me realize that it's good to create designs that you like but you also always have to think about the ones that are going to see this work. In my classes the projects that I did were always chosen because I had a certain interest in this subject matter but It's not always like that. you have to do your best to illustrate in graphic elements something that maybe you're not passionate about In the way that people will react positively or negatively. Graphic design is all about reactions and different opinions.

bottom of page